West Liberty University Appoints New Student Government Leadership | News, Sports, Jobs


From left to right, SGA Vice Chairman Cody Dixon-Rushman, Marcella Snyder and Chairman Sydney Burkle are shown on the Quad just after the 2022 Honors Convocation.

WEST LIBERTY — Leaders of the Student Government Association (SGA) at West Liberty University were sworn in at the annual Honors Convocation held at 6 p.m., Wednesday, April 27, 2022.

Executive Director of Housing and Student Life Marcella Snyder was sworn in at the end of the convocation to incoming President Sydney Burkle and Vice President Cody Dixon-Rushman.

Burkle is a junior, marketing major. A member and former president of Alpha Xi Delta, she is vice president of recruiting for the Panhellenic Council. Burkle is from Wheeling and is the daughter of Hilltopper baseball coach Eric Burkle and Shelley Crake, both of Wheeling.

She looks forward to the coming year.

“As student body president, I will work diligently to improve in the areas of efficiency, transparency, and opportunity, all for the students of West Liberty University,” Burkle said. “Building grounded relationships with faculty, staff, and administrators is at the top of my priority list, along with providing frequent programming to create a more inclusive campus community for everyone. Throughout the coming year, I will strive to make West Liberty University better, and I look forward to doing so.

Burkle’s future educational goal is to earn his MBA upon graduation.

Dixon-Rushman, a junior dual major in cybersecurity and computer information systems, is a member of Beta Theta Gamma and Phi Beta Lambda. He is also a member of the West Liberty Investment Club.

A student employee of WLU’s Department of Information Technology, Dixon-Rushman enjoys helping students and faculty with any IT issues on campus. He’s from Shadyside, Ohio.

“Overall, I do what I can through the organizations I participate in to help students and teachers. I want to make an impact here on campus and I’m here to help,” Dixon-Rushman said.

Other elected and confirmed SGA officers for 2022-2023 include:

Senators: Ishika Agarwal, Payton Sherry, Andrew Dalton, Haleigh McFatridge, Hannah Holbert, Alexis Ramby and Peyton Anderson. Additional senators will be elected in September when students return to campus for the 2022-23 academic year.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox


Comments are closed.